The production will arrive for a 7 week Christmas Season at Sadler's Wells from 3 December

The full cast for the return of Matthew Bourne’s double Olivier award-winning, smash hit production of THE RED SHOES has today been announced. 

The tour opens on Monday 18 November at Theatre Royal Plymouth and runs until Saturday 23 November, ahead of a seven-week Christmas season at Sadler’s Wells, London, from Tuesday 3 December to Sunday 19 January 2020. The tour continues until June 2020.

A sell-out before its world premiere season opened in 2016, Matthew Bourne’s triumphant adaptation of the legendary film returns in 2019, having won two Olivier Awards and dazzled audiences across the UK and the USA.

THE RED SHOES is a tale of obsession, possession and one girl's dream to be the greatest dancer in the world. Victoria Page lives to dance but her ambitions become a battleground between the two men who inspire her passion.

Set to the achingly romantic music of golden-age Hollywood composer Bernard Herrmann, THE RED SHOES is orchestrated by Terry Davies and played by the New Adventures Orchestra, with cinematic designs by Lez Brotherston, lighting by Paule Constable, sound by Paul Groothuis and projection design from Duncan McLean.

The cast will be as follows: 

BORIS LERMONTOV - Adam Cooper (until 19 January 2020), Glenn Graham, Reece Causton (from February 2020), Ben Brown (from February 2020) and Andrew Monaghan (from March 2020)

VICTORIA PAGE - Ashley Shaw and Cordelia Braithwaites

JULIAN CRASTER - Dominic North, Stephen Murray (until end of February 2020), Harrison Dowzell (until end of February 2020) and Andrew Monaghan (from 17 February 2020)

IRINA BORONSKAJA - Michela Meazza (until 8 February 2020), Sophia Hurdley and Katie Webb (from 17 February 2020)

IVAN BOLESLAWSKY - Liam Mower and Jackson Fisch

GRISCHA LJUBOV - Glenn Graham, Liam Mower and Danny Reubens

They are joined by Steph Billers, João Carolino, Cameron Flynn, Christina Rebecca Gibbs, Rose Goddard, Bryony Harrison, Daisy May Kemp, Kate Lyons, Matt Petty, Catrin Thomas, Jem Trim and Joshua White.

Related Articles

Go back